Studying the experience of local self-government

      On 27 September — 1 October 2010 a number of chairpersons of local Councils of Deputies together with employees of the Secretariat of the Council of the Republic visited the Kingdom of Sweden within the framework of the activities of the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies at the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus and its cooperation with the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions. The members of the delegation were: Mr Aleksandr Atiasov, Mr Sergei Ashmiantsev, Ms Irina Novikova, Mr Aleksei Stepanenko (members of the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies), Ms Natalia Karpovich, Head of the Expert-Juridical Department of the Secretariat of the Council of the Republic, and Mr Aleksandr Salonin, Chairman of Oktyabr Village Council of Deputies, Zhlobin Region.
      The members of the delegation visited Stockholm County Council and met its President. They got acquainted with the peculiarities of the Swedish local self-government system activities and studied the ways it interacts with municipalities and the state.
      The presentation made by the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions and the meetings with Mr Håkan Sörman, its Chief Executive Officer, and other officials allowed to study its legal and financial framework, ways of interacting with the Parliament and the Government and some aspects of its international relations.
      During the meetings with Mr Lennart Dahlberg, Chief Executive Officer of Stockholm County Association of Local Authorities, the participants exchanged experience related to the activities of such structures. And the study visit to Nacka Municipality gave the members of the delegation an insight into the municipal organization and the areas of responsibility. A lot of attention was given to the role of Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions from a membership perspective”.
      The meetings and discussions that took place within the framework of the visit to the Parliament and the Ministry of Finance of Sweden were quite interesting and productive. The members of the delegation analyzed the peculiarities of the Belarusian system of local self-government alongside with studying the peculiarities and practical experience of the abovementioned establishments. The meeting with the representative of the Committee on the Constitution of the Parliament was devoted to discussing the role and function of the Swedish Parliament and the main principles of local self-government. The members of the delegation were particularly interested in the activities of the Swedish Ministry of Finance in terms of its cooperation with local self-government bodies.
      The members of the delegation actively participated in experience exchange, discussions and talks and sought to clarify the political, social and economic situation in the Republic of Belarus.

Изучение опыта работы местного самоуправления

      В рамках деятельности Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления при Совете Республики Национального собрания Республики Беларусь и его сотрудничества со Шведской ассоциацией местных и региональных органов самоуправления ряд председателей местных Советов депутатов вместе с работниками Секретариата Совета Республики 27 сентября — 1 октября 2010 года посетили Королевство Швеция. В состав делегации входили члены Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления Атясов А.Е., Ашмянцев С.Д., Новикова И.Н., Степаненко А.Н., начальник Главного экспертно-правового управления Секретариата Совета Республики Карпович Н.А. и председатель Октябрьского сельского Совета депутатов Жлобинского района Салонин А.С.
      В процессе командировки члены делегации посетили окружной Совет Стокгольма и встретились с его председателем. Они ознакомились с особенностями функционирования шведской системы местного самоуправления в целом, а также выяснили формы его взаимодействия с коммунами и государством.
      При проведении презентации Шведской ассоциации местных и региональных органов самоуправления и в ходе встречи с ее исполнительным директором Хоканом Сёрманом, а также с другими должностными лицами были изучены правовые и финансовые основы обеспечения ее функционирования, пути взаимодействия с Парламентом и Правительством, некоторые аспекты ее международных отношений.
       В форме дискуссий и обмена опытом работы прошли встречи с исполнительным директором региональной ассоциации местного управления Стокгольма Леннартом Долбертом. При посещении коммуны Ноко обсуждались вопросы сферы ответственности таких структур. Особое внимание при этом было уделено вопросу «Роль Шведской Ассоциации местных и региональных органов самоуправления с точки зрения членов».
      Достаточно интересными и продуктивными были встречи и переговоры, которые проходили в рамках посещения Парламента и Министерства финансов и муниципалитетов Швеции. Наряду с изучением некоторых особенностей и практики их деятельности анализировались и особенности функционирования белорусской системы местного управления и самоуправления. В процессе встречи с представителем Конституционного комитета Парламента обсуждалась тема «Роль и функции Шведского парламента», а также были рассмотрены основные принципы функционирования местного самоуправления. Следует отметить, что членов делегации особенно интересовала сфера деятельности указанного выше министерства, так как в его непосредственные функции входят и вопросы осуществления взаимодействия с органами самоуправления.
      Члены делегации принимали активное участие в обмене опытом работы, в беседах, дискуссиях, а также в разъяснении политической и социально-экономической ситуации в Республике Беларусь.