Visit of the Delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe

On 25 — 26 September 2013 the Delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe paid a visit to the Republic of Belarus.

Chairperson of the Standing Committee of the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus for Regional Policy and Local Self-Government, Deputy Chairperson of the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies at the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus Ms Svetlana Gerasimovich met the Heads of the Delegation — President of the Chamber of Local Authorities Mr Jean-Claude Frecon and President of the Chamber of Regions Ms Nataliya Romanova. Member of the Standing Commission on State Building, Local Government and Regulations of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus Ms Galina Filippovich, Members of the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies at the Council of the Republic — Chairman of Vitebsk Province Council of Deputies Mr Aleksandr Atyasov and Chairman of Minsk Province Council of Deputies Mr Ivan Lipnitsky took part in the meeting as well.

During the discussion the parties considered the importance of the dialogue acceleration and the expansion of interconnection between the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies at the Council of the Republic and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe. 

Ms Svetlana Gerasimovich on her part welcomed the visit of the Congress Delegation and emphasized that it would enable to get acquainted with the activity of the Local Self-Government Bodies in Belarus and with the way the local self-government develops and the European experience is applied. She noted the importance of sharing the effective practices in providing and managing the functioning of the authorities of different levels. After that Ms Svetlana Gerasimovich dwelled on the key objectives and principle directions of the Council for Cooperation of Local Self-Government Bodies at the Council of the Republic activity, and informed the Members of the Delegation on the structure of the local government and self-government in the Republic of Belarus, the system of its bodies, their powers and the electoral procedure.

In the course of the meeting Ms Svetlana Gerasimovich, Mr Jean-Claude Frecon and Ms Nataliya Romanova answered the questions of the Mass Media representatives.

The visit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe Delegation includes meeting the representatives of the Authorities of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Minsk City Council of Deputies, attending a range of Village Councils of Deputies and Molodechno Regional Executive Committee.

Визит в Республику Беларусь делегации Конгресса местных и региональных властей Совета Европы

25 — 26 сентября 2013 г. в Республике Беларусь с визитом находится делегация Конгресса местных и региональных властей Совета Европы.

Председатель Постоянной комиссии Совета Республики Национального собрания Республики Беларусь по региональной политике и местному самоуправлению, заместитель председателя Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления при Совете Республики Национального собрания Республики Беларусь Герасимович С.М. встретилась с руководителями делегации —  председателем Палаты местных властей Жан-Клодом Фреконом и председателем Палаты регионов Натальей Романовой. Во встрече также принимали участие член Постоянной комиссии Палаты представителей Национального собрания Республики Беларусь по государственному строительству, местному самоуправлению и регламенту Филиппович Г.В., члены Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления при Совете Республики — председатель Витебского областного Совета депутатов Атясов А.Е. и председатель Минского областного Совета депутатов Липницкий И.Э.

В ходе беседы стороны обсудили значимость активизации диалога и расширения взаимодействия на уровне Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления при Совете Республики и Конгресса местных и региональных властей Совета Европы.

С.М.Герасимович со своей стороны поприветствовала визит делегации Конгресса и подчеркнула, что это позволит ознакомиться с работой органов местного самоуправления в Беларуси и с тем, как в целом развивается местное самоуправление в нашей стране и используется европейский опыт. Она отметила важность открытого обмена эффективными наработками в организации функционирования органов власти различных уровней. Далее С.М.Герасимович подробно остановилась на основных задачах и направлениях деятельности Совета по взаимодействию органов местного самоуправления при Совете Республики, а также проинформировала членов делегации о структуре местного управления и самоуправления в Республике Беларусь, системе его органов, их полномочиях и процедуре выборов.

В рамках встречи С.М.Герасимович, Жан-Клод Фрекон и Наталья Романова также ответили на вопросы журналистов.

Визит делегации Конгресса местных и региональных властей Совета Европы включает встречи с представителями руководства Министерства иностранных дел Республики Беларусь и Минского городского Совета депутатов, посещение ряда сельских Советов депутатов и Молодечненского районного исполнительного комитета.